Confessions of a Cheesy Tourist

If being a corny tourist is wrong, I don’t want to be right!

I love all things tourist. Today was our first day in Chicago, and we did all of those cheesy things that sometimes people are afraid to do because they’ll look too much like a tourist. 

The first thing we did was go to Millennium Park, home of the iconic Bean sculpture. Yes, I took a picture of my reflection in it- and you know what? I liked it. The Bean is a giant sculpture in- get this- the shape of a bean. It is reflective and metallic and when you walk up to it, it’s sort of like a fun house mirror. Walking underneath it creates a kaleidoscope effect. I don’t care if I looked like a cheesy tourist-because that’s what I am and I am not ashamed of it. 

We went to Navy Pier next. And you know what? It was really fun. We rode the Ferris Wheel, walked through the little shops, took pictures by the tall ships, and even ate lunch at a cute dinner called Billy Goat’s, home of the “CHEEZBORGER, CHEEZBORGER, CHEEZBORGER” and the man who allegedly cursed the Cubs, back in the 1940s. It was fun and touristy and the food was good!

Then we went shopping! And when I say shopping I do not actually mean shopping because I am poor and my budget is about -$4. But I did buy some “signature Chicago popcorn”. (I really enjoy food) I went into Nordstrom and saw a beautiful black dress, with red lace flowers, which I thought my mom should definitely try on, and then I looked at the price tag. It was almost $4,000 and I had to leave. I cannot fathom spending that much money on my wedding dress, let alone one that I could wear to a fancy restaurant. 

Wrapping up our first day in the Windy City, we ate at a pizza place called Pizzeria Uno, boasting to be the Original Chicago-style deep dish pizza. It was so delicious, and well worth the hour wait. It is still in the building that it opened in, over 70 years ago, so it was cramped and loud, but the atmosphere made the pizza taste better. It was so filling that I could only have one piece. But it was so delicious I considered overly stuffing myself with more deep dish goodness. 

I love being a cheesy tourist. I know I might look ridiculous, but I think it makes my trip more fun. Often I see people (Specifically women) trying to pretend like they don’t like being a cheesy tourist like the rest of us, but they secretly want to, so they’re stuck in a strange limbo between looking like they belong and trying to get a refection picture in the Bean. Embrace the cheesy tourist inside you- it is so fun!

My cheesy Bean picture

My cheesy Bean picture

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Cheesy Tourist

Leave a Reply

